Back from Lapland

Well I have been back a couple of days from a wonderful 400 km trip along the Nordkalottleden in Sweden.

It will take a few days to sort through photos, notes etc., a full report as well as gear comments will appear in due course.

Some summary information:

Distance covered: 402 km.
Total Ascent: 12140 m.
Temperature range: 2C to 23C.
Some beautiful sunny days, some very cold wet days, dry days were in the majority.
Total Nights 19; nights in tent 17.
All gear, with one exception, performed as expected.

This entry was posted in Nordkalotten Trail, Sweden. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Back from Lapland

  1. Welcome back! Wow, that is some distance you walked, about 21km / day over 19 days! Enjoy the rest of the holidays, while we look forward to the write-ups =)

  2. Peter Nylund says:

    I'm looking forward to the final report.

  3. alan.sloman says:

    Ooh. This is one I am really looking forward to reading.8-)

  4. Mark Roberts says:

    Nice photo! Can't wait to read all about it. I feel the nostalgia tugging at the heart strings already 🙂

  5. Martin Rye says:

    As Alan said really looking forward to reading this. 

  6. Helen Fisher says:

    I second everyone else!

  7. Maz says:

    I hope to go to Sarek next year so I am very much looking forward to this, not only from an intel perspective but simply for the story!

  8. This is one to look forward to, sounds like a great trip into the wilds.

  9. nielsenbrown says:

    Thanks Hendrik, the first few days were less than 20 km but once the pack lightened and I became accustomed to the walking the distances increased, longest day in distance (and time) was 28 km.

  10. nielsenbrown says:

    Thanks Peter, Alan, Mark and Martin, hopefully I can meet your expectations.

  11. Helen Fisher says:

    I second everyone else!

  12. nielsenbrown says:

    Hi Maz, the trail passes around the back of Sarek, it is a beautiful area and one I would love to revisit.

  13. This is an area I really would like to visit someday so I'm certainly looking forward for this report. No pressure! 🙂

  14. nielsenbrown says:

    No pressure Antti, and yes the area is definitely worth a visit, I can see my self returning to go walkabout in the area, the scenery is magnificent. 

  15. Greg says:

    Wow, plenty of admiration from me for some serious Km's covered.  Look forward to pictures/stories/whatever you can put together about this walk 🙂

  16. nielsenbrown says:

    Thanks Greg, it is the longest walk both in distance and time that I have done, the next longest in time was from The Bluff to Mt Bogong, several years ago.

  17. ulyng says:

    Sounds like a great trip. Going myself in september.What was weight of pack? Did you carry food for the whole trip from start of?

  18. Dondo1 says:

    Welcome back, Roger. Love the photo. The landscape is amazing & it looks like you got a nice taut pitch with your Shangri-La 2.  I'm really looking forward to the photos and stories of your trip.

  19. nielsenbrown says:

    Hi ulyng, I carried food for the whole trip, though I could have bought some food in the STF huts that were open, you can check their website, but I think most will be closed in September. The total starting weight of the pack was 23 kg and my complete gear list can be found at http://www.nielsenbrownoutdoors.com/2011/06/gear-list-lapland-2011.htmlIt would be nice to visit the area when the autumn colours are out.

  20. nielsenbrown says:

    Thans Dondo, it was windy the night before, but using your angled pole technique, it was as tight as a drum and cosy inside. Stories are on the way.

  21. Welcome back, great looking picture! Look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a comment